h1

Wetting the Brush

May 7, 2010

This week in painting review, I finally finished up an Orc Shaman I’ve been wanting to do for quite sometime. It’s amazing when you put your mind to getting something accomplished per week, just how easy it is to do. Making that first step is the hardest part, but sticking with it so far has been pretty easy.

Anyways, I love this Orc Shaman model, the giant leg bone for a staff, which I tried to make look as if it was glowing with green from the inside but I don’t think that really came through too well. I did rush this guy a bit compared to my normal characters, mostly because I was just getting back into painting again after a 3 month break. But also because I don’t think he’ll see the table much at all. In the current book I always use goblin shamen. I don’t feel the extra points are worth using Orc magic instead, and the extra LD point usually doesn’t matter since the general is right there.

Orc Shaman - Warhammer Fantasy BattleOrc Shaman - Warhammer Fantasy BattleOrc Shaman - Warhammer Fantasy BattleOrc Shaman - Warhammer Fantasy Battle

I was also able to get started on a few more spearelves. So by next weeks update we’ll have 3 of those completed for sure, and hopefully my last 3 white lions, rounding out the unit to 6×3 instead of the 5×3 they’ve been running.

That’s all for this week, and here’s to keeping that brush wet!

2 comments

  1. I like him. The red looks good, but could perhaps do with a slight extra layer of highlighting to bring it out a bit more. But I really like it still. I think the same could be said about the skin, an extra highlight would bring it out a little bit better.

    I agree about the staff glow, to make it look better it would need a lighter layer or two of green to make it look all ‘glowy’


    • Good call, it certainly could use more highlighting. I tried to start light and goto dark, but didn’t doing the light layer over the top again. Next time for sure 🙂



Leave a Reply

