h1

Constuction

December 23, 2009

Got a bunch of work done on the basement this week so far. Finished up another exterior wall, and started getting insulation in. Only a few more panels of that left to go, and it’s time for electrical. It’s been a lot of fun so far. I love getting to play with the hammer drill, putting holes in concrete and smashing a z bolt down there with sledge hammer is really quite amusing. I’m starting to get better at using the nail gun as well. My toe-nailing is going much better, I think the connections are coming together well. Using a plumb bob is a new experience as well, kind of tedious, but really helps to get things straightened out. I feel like I’m actually putting up some pretty straight walls now, feels damn good. I’m only about 2/5’s done with the exterior walls down there, but still hoping to hit my end of Jan. goal of having all those done with insulation added, hoping to keep the heating costs down over the winter.

One comment

  1. Sounds like you are making some progress. Lets see some pictures! If you’re interested we have a bunch of podcasts with blog posts where we talk about finishing basements. You can check them out here

    http://www.handyguyspodcast.com/tag/basement-finishing-series

    Keep up the good work and feel free to drop us a line if you have any questions as your project progresses.



Leave a comment