h1

Daemons – Flesh Hounds

December 17, 2009

I just realized, to someone not familiar with warhammer at all, that’s a really scary title. There’s no telling how deep into hell this little post is bound to go…. no worries for anyone faint of heart, it’s really all just about a silly little table top, wargame set in a fantasy world. That sounds much better, right?

Anyhow, I’ve gotten to work on the bases for the flesh hounds. They’ll be running in 3 units of 5, and I got the first 5 bases done, and started playing with the models, just to see who would go where and how it’ll eventually look. Since the GW ‘flesh hound’ models are way over prices, I ended up buying the chaos hounds from the WoC army to use, mixed with 1 pack (5) of the flesh hound models. Setting them side by side however, I realized why I haven’t seen anyone else do this. They’re really not sized to go together. The flesh hounds are quite a bit larger. I’m going to try and put them all together though, modeling the flesh hounds and the chaos hounds to look as similar to each other as possible, even though one has scales and the other fur. I am taking off the silly lizard collar thing they have on the flesh hounds, I can’t stand that, they’re dogs, not lizards. The chaos hounds will be getting longer than normal tales and larger spikes all over. I’m going to go over the fur abit as well, cover up a bit more if it and I’m hoping it’ll look like they have a little larger body that way. However, since I’m not the greatest at creating smooth skin from greenstuff, or scales for that matter, we’ll just have to see how it all turns out. When both sets are done, we’ll see if they’re able to mix and match, or just run them in seperate units, only time will tell.

I’m pretty excited to get the lava bases painted up, that’ll be pretty fun. They’re similar to the test ones posted earlier, and I combined two bases together into one, so I could use a larger rock. As far as movement trays, I’m thinking something simple and elegant this time, hopefully something metal that can sit underneather and not really be seen. Since they’re lava bases, with rocks and all, I might beable to replicate that on a movement tray, but since they’re so thin, I dont’ think I’ll have room for the rocks on there, in which case it’ll just look like they’re surrounded by lava, not exactly what I’m going for… Gotta think on this one more as well.

One comment

  1. Your title is scary.



Leave a Reply

